LDR Playlist: The night before Good-Bye

It has actually been some time since I got to spend time with Ali. While I may not remember every single time we had to say good-bye in detail a bittersweet feeling overcomes me whenever I think back.

The last evenings and nights together in a LDR are always drenched in melancholy. You are happy that you are still together and grieving because you know that with every minute that passes your good-bye comes closer – and in many cases that good-bye will have to hold for months. Worn from lack of sleep I often found myself feeling like on my way to the slaughter house during the final trip to the airport. I pretty much just wanted “it”, the long process of saying good-bye that often begins days before, to be over.

1. Eagle Eye Cherry – Save Tonight 

I think this was one of the first songs that I discovered after starting out with Ali and could identify with. I like this one in particular because the mood is not as melancholic as in many other songs about saying good-bye. That makes it much easier to listen to, especially when you have just gone through saying good-bye. It focuses on the bright side of the last night and rather encourages you to enjoy your last hours together instead of sinking in grief.

 

Well, we know I’m going away
And how I wish, I wish it weren’t so
so take this wine and drink with me
let’s delay our misery…

Save tonight
Fight the break of dawn
Come tomorrow
Tomorrow I’ll be gone

There’s a log on the fire
and it burns like me for you
Tomorrow comes with one desire… 
to take me away

It ain’t easy to say goodbye
Darling, please, don’t start to cry
’cause girl you know I’ve got to go
and Lord I wish it wasn’t so

 

2. Maroon 5 – Daylight

This one is quite new and pretty much the “emo” version of Safe Tonight, at least that’s what I thought when I paid attention to the lyrics for the first time. Maybe “emo” is too harsh but it is definitely melancholic and I wouldn’t dare to listen to this song with anyone around when I’m still emotional from saying good-bye. After all, the lyrics focus on the morning (symbolized by the daylight) instead of the last night itself as Save Tonight does, which is probably exactly the reason it makes me feel much sadder. Anyhow, the lyrics are really sweet and I think anyone in a long-distance relationship can identify so well. The Play For Change version below is not that emo, however ;)

 

Here I am waiting, I’ll have to leave soon, why am I holdin’ on
We knew this day would come, we knew it all along
How did it come so fast
This is our last night, but it’s late and I’m tryin’ not to sleep
‘Cuz I know, when I wake I will have to slip away

Here I am starring, at your perfection in my arms; so beautiful.
The sky is getting bright, the stars are burnin’ out.
Somebody slow it down.
This is way too hard, ‘cuz I know when the sun comes up I will leave
This is my last glance that will soon be memories

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close
‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own
But, tonight I need to hold you so close

 

3. Something Corporate – Wait

Is this a LDR song? I’m not sure, but at least I like to read it as one. Anyhow, Something Corporate is/was one of my favourite bands. Sadly, they had split up before I even got to know them. The lead singer Andrew McMahon has a way with cryptic lyrics and sometimes I still find myself discovering new meanings to their songs although I have listened to them a hundred times before.

I can hear ticking clocks,
Running rampant in me,
Chiming in apogee
Waiting for the synergy
Of her and me waiting on the light
And I never say goodnight
Never say that I’m always right

Now in you girl
I’m content to drown
You’re so high and I’m so down
This night’ll end sooner but much sooner now
I’m awake in you and you’re asleep in me
All the things I’ll never be
Make me wonder could you see
And I said

Wait, till I hit the ground harder
Wish I could wait, to hear your heartbeat fast
Wish I could wait till I missed her flavour
My days are numbered here
And I don’t want to be the last one home
Don’t want to be the last one home

This post is for everyone in LDR and especially for fellow blogger  ;)

Leave a Reply

