My thoughts are with Venezuela

Solidary demonstration for the Venezuelan opposition in Berlin, Germany (Credit by venezuela-europa.blogspot.com)

I am so sorry I have not been updating as fequently as I wanted to. When starting this blog about two weeks ago little did I know how the situation in Venezuela would develop. At the moment I spend most of my spare time reading blogs (such as caracaschronicles.com) and Twitter posts, watching videos and news. With the situation in Ucraine seemingly more or less resolved and the Winter Olympics of Sochi being over the international media has finally begun focussing on events in Venezuela. Although it still gives me shivers to watch masked protesters throwing tear gas canisters back at the security forces I am happy to open Facebook in the morning and see big online newspapers like Spiegel Online and Die Welt report.

There have been a few solidary demonstrations for the Venezuelan opposition in Germany the past weekend, and although I only know of Berlin, Frankfurt, Cologne and Heidelberg this is more than I expected. It gives me hope, though, because I feel like I am not the only one sitting in her safe and comfortable German home thinking of dear ones in Venezuela who have to go through such a time of insecurity. I have looked for demonstrations somewhere near my hometown but did not find any. Maybe joining a demonstration (without the fear of getting shot) and screaming out the frustration that has been slowly building inside of me would give me some kind of relief.

Anyhow, kudos to those who organized the demonstrations and produced some really nice images to share on the web as well!


Update:
Looks like there have also been actions in Regensburg and Hamburg (boo, and I didn’t know!)

Leave a Reply

