Not the Valentine’s type of girl

Okay, so all the long-distance relationship (LDR) blogs I’m following have been overflowing with ideas for LDR presents on Valentines Day. Not that I am especially creative, anyway, but I have never been a fan of commercialized holidays – it’s what I have been hating about christmas most of my life and Valentine’s Day is certainly no different. All the pressure to give something because it is expected and not because you feel like it is just killing all the joy about it for me. It would be a day like any other to me, although it is hard to escape the omnipresent romance starting two weeks before the actual date or all the “forever alone” posts on the internet. Fellow blogger Trang has pretty much caught my feelings about Valentine’s Day in words when she writes “you don’t have to be in a relationship to feel special and happy on V-Day! And don’t use this day to make up for what you should have done for the people you love” each and every day all year long.

However, with the violent protests in Venezuela going on it does make me feel awkwardly sentimental and makes me miss Ali more than usual. Probably it doesn’t have much to do with Valentine’s Day itself but the coincidence that these two events match. I know his safety is not an issue (yet) but strangely, today I find it hard to ignore Valentine’s Day and pretend it just another day like any other.

I must admit that listening to sad songs foremost people in long-distance relationship can relate to just too well doesn’t help my mood much, either. But, oh well, here is one of my favourites (although I didn’t like the movie much):

“I find the map and draw a straight line
Over rivers, farms, and state lines
The distance from A to where you’d ‘B’
It’s only finger-lengths that I see
I touch the place where I’d find your face
My fingers in creases of distant dark places”

(I promise there will be less sentimental posts on here in the future – it’s really not my usual way – and more actual advice and help posts)

One thought on “Not the Valentine’s type of girl

Leave a Reply

